The original Fanshawe Pioneer Village Storefronts were constructed by founding Curator Wilfrid Jury in 1960-1961 from materials reclaimed from historic structures throughout London and Middlesex. The Storefronts featured the Wrigney Harness Shop and Soper Gun Shop (both early London businesses), and a Barbershop and Millinery store. Due to severe deterioration of the roof the Storefronts closed to the public in 2003 and were dismantled in 2010. They are one of the most missed attractions at the Fanshawe Pioneer Village!
Thanks to the generous support of our funders, the Historic Storefronts will be returning to the Village next year, just in time to celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary. The addition of a Tinsmith Shop, a Harness Maker/Cobbling Shop, and a circa 1915 “Rotary Office” will complete the “Town of Fanshawe” streetscape. The construction of a fully accessible boardwalk linking the Storefronts with the Denfield General Store and the Print Shop will ensure all our visitors can enjoy the exhibits and programs offered within.
Shovels are in the ground, the foundation is poured and the walls are going up! Here is a sneak peek of the progress to date, and stay tuned for updates as the construction continues this fall.